Within These Memories

And within these memories, you still inhabit so many of my dreams.  I suppose life has pushed us this way and that way, forced to take parallel, yet different paths.  It’s this intense connection that we probably will always have, for better or for worse, but still there is no congruency.  We’re consistently inconsistent, and I guess that was always our greatest pull towards each other.

You were so captivating.  I remember the first time we met; I was 15 and you were 14.  Already beautiful, but I was chasing other girls and gave you the cold shoulder.  But in the back of my mind I always thought about you.  Maybe I thought you were out of my league and I didn’t pursue you.  Funny how things turned out.

You were such a great dancer.  And then the first time we danced.  I’m not the greatest dancer, but I’m rather okay in my own right.  Your sisters pressured you to dance with me.  We both had that “whatever” attitude towards the other sex that for some reason attracts people, anyway.  And damn, were you a great dancer.  That night, we danced for hours, hiding away from the world at large.  We were in our own world, and it was nice.

You were so exquisite.  You always had this charm about you that drove me crazy.  Sensual, crazy sexy, yet so damn classy.  You were that girl that no man could have, and when I swept you off your feet, I really valued every moment.  The flowing dresses, that accentuated your lithe curves.  The trends that you set, one of the first girls to start the whole retro-scene again.  How your short bob fell around your neckline.

You understood my soul.  The quiet nights by the harbor still burn in my memories.  You understood my appreciation for the simple moments.  And in return, I always encouraged you to meet your goals.  I guess I’m a facilitator.  Beyond my outside outrageousness, I’m content with being the secret protector, nurturing possibility with quiet hope.

I don’t think anyone expected this.  Too bad no one will ever know, we two included.

So it’s a shame.

Nearly a year later, it’s still a shame.

6 thoughts on “Within These Memories

  1. dagnydarling says:

    as usual, i totally feel you on this one.

    why is romance the hardest part of my life?! you seem like the kind of person (like me) that thrives in everything, aside from the emotional stuff. Everything else about life is so easy… and then BAM! heartache.

    I don’t understand.

    • I think… we both shy so hard away from even the most minute idea of relationship that when it does inadvertently happen, it hits home, and hits hard.

      I don’t mean not to care, and I’m sure you don’t either. But sometimes I think the people who care the least, end up caring the most.

      And I also realized I totally suck at this emotional stuff. Really.. :\

  2. This is a bit of a special post. Made me tingly (and not just in the panties…)

    Do you think that this means that those ones that still haunt me from all those years ago think about me now too???

    I always thought it was in my head…

    • I think, sometimes they might.

      In the vast craziness of Life, we connect and disconnect, though once a strong enough connection is made, it’s often hard to cut it off all in its entirety. And, it’s the relatively unemotional people, that end up thinking about it the most. Funny how that goes, right?

  3. Catherine says:

    This is so beautifully written. I just found your blog today, so I’m not sure the entire story, but I wanted to stop and say that I love your writing and this piece really moved me.

    • I’m sorry for the late reply — life has taken me on a hiatus of sorts from this blog. I did read this though, when you originally commented and find your thoughts quite encouraging 🙂

Leave a comment